Micropost - Automated Conlanging in Our Time?

...nnno. I'd say no.

This is the equivalent of me rolling out the TV with a Bill Nye tape because I don't feel like teaching today. Mostly pictures. I decided to mess around with GPT-3 and see if it could give me some interesting suggestions for a phonology. Here's the prompt:

Should be a piece of cake, right? Wrong. Very wrong.

There's going to be a continuing theme of it basically forgetting the prompt and misbehaving. Here, it gives me s and z even though I specifically asked it not to do stuff like that. The phonemes I asked for are also... in the table, I guess? Credit where it could potentially be due?

It didn't format it like I asked and it seemed to treat the phonemes I requested as plosives, but I guess that added flavor. ɾ' is... well, it sure is something. It also included vowels this time! Hella milquetoast, but vowels nonetheless.

This is about the closest it got to the format I wanted. The phonemes I requested are still in the wrong places and given the wrong distinctions, plus it forgot vowels, but close enough, I guess. If it fucks up this bad with just phonology, I'm gonna have a job for a good long while.

P.G.F (post-Get-Fuzzy): If anyone knows of a suitably Y2K font kinda like this one with even cursory IPA support, please leave me a comment. Niche request, but I figured I'd ask anyway.


Mobile Optimization and Its Consequences

As I bring this site into reality, one question that's been weighing on my mind is whether or not to make a vertically-oriented version for mobile devices. However, upon two seconds of thinking, I found it would be a massive pain in the ass. I plan for every page to have a render as its background, and the way the page backgrounds are set up leaves them awkwardly chilling at the top of the page on mobile with the rest being white. If I were to remedy this problem, that would mean making two renders for each unique background with all kinds of tweaks between versions to make everything align right and get everything I want in frame and all that jazz. Plus, my phone is 9:20 instead of 9:16, so it wouldn't even look like it would for most people on the only mobile device I could test with.


It gets worse, though. From what little poking around I've done regarding detecting mobile devices, it's invasive and non-static enough I'm not sure Neocities would let it slide. I value my internet privacy very highly (just look at the dozen privacy plugins in my browser), and I wouldn't want to violate other people's any more than absolutely necessary to load pictures and display rants. I guess if you need Marciland on the go, use a laptop. Or just, y'know, turn your phone sideways.


There's not really a relevant Get Fuzzy for bitching about designing websites for cellphones, and I'm wanting to end each one with a semi-appropriate Get Fuzzy, so have this one.


The Grand Inaugural Blog Post

Finally got around to making this page as opposed to the umptillion other things I could and should be getting around to. From the smell of this place, it will be one of great shame and embarrasment... just like I always dreamed!